Change of weather means fall sewing.

The chill is in the air.  Fall festivals are popping up everywhere. Crisp apples, pumpkin drinks, and the smell of fall surrounds us.  My kids have switched out their T-shirts and shorts for long jeans and hoodies.  It is also the season for jackets.  There is nothing I like more than a good jacket!  Here are some great patterns I have found so that you can create one of your very own.

Jacket with tails I  made this pattern a while ago for a costume.  I found the sleeves were really long but other than that it was a easy enough pattern, plus it is a free PDF!

Talea is a cute overcoat pattern available from Burda to be printed at home.  It would be so nice if made from a luxurious wool, and could you imagine what fun you could have with all the buttons?

Bed Jacket Oh, how I wish to wear a silk bed coat and eat bon-bons in bed.  That is unlikely, but I could at least make myself a sweet little bed coat to wear for the run to the bus stop.

This is a free pattern, though you have to draft it yourself as it is just directions and a diagram.  This is from a vintage pattern book, I love that it gives us a look at a different era.

Here is another pattern from Burda, the Silk Motorcycle Jacket.  It is so pretty, I think I will have to add it to my sewing list!  I love the asymmetrical zipper and the slanted zipper pockets.

Indygo Junction trench coat

Available here at Woolstock, the Midtown Trench is a fantastic fall jacket.  It is a favorite for many of our customers, too. I even wrote a post about it.  I love that there is so many ways to be creative with this jacket, you could do color blocking on the different pieces, embroider the collar and cuffs, or just pick a fantastic fabric.

Another customer favorite is the Little Somethin’ Jacket.  It is perfect for those days when you just need a little somethin’ for the chill. It is loose and unstructured but full of feminine elegance.

What is your favorite jacket sewing pattern?

Leave a Reply

